Photo by Inga Gezalian on Unsplash

The Ukraine Counteroffensive has Failed Miserably, so Maybe it’s Time for Peace Talks

If America were peaceful, Russia might reflect that peace back to America.

ScottCDunn
9 min readAug 28, 2023

--

I read the comments on my articles. I get the feedback and I know that some of my regular readers believe that I’m just too sympathetic to Russia’s claimed security interests. I also know that some people think I treat Russia like a victim. I’d like to clarify a few of my beliefs about Russia.

I don’t think of Russia as a victim. I think of Russia as a country that perceives American hostility to Russia as a threat to Russia’s safety. Even if American leadership believes that all they’re doing is protecting America, their actions are perceived as threatening by Russia, a recipient of American foreign policy signaling.

Russia is responding to American actions abroad. Russia has seen what America has done to smaller, less capable countries and is afraid for the well-being of its people.

Please pick up, the universe is calling

One of my core beliefs is that the universe is like a mirror. It is always reflecting to us, what we are thinking and feeling. If we are fearful, the universe reflects our own fear back to us. If we are peaceful, the universe…

--

--