Photo by Martin Adams on Unsplash

The Greenest Energy Is The Energy That We Don’t Use

Wars are financed on the energy we use, not the energy we conserve.

ScottCDunn
5 min readJun 14, 2022

--

Since the pandemic, I’ve worked from home, and since then I had a realization. Not driving to work is still more efficient than a Tesla. If I drive to work with or without a Tesla, I’m still consuming more energy than I would have working from home.

Since I’ve been working from home, I’ve saved money on gas, and wear and tear on the car. I’ve saved time on the road. That was an instant raise.

I used to have a strong desire for a Tesla. I admire their design, their muscle car speed, and how clean they would be in my garage. With a Tesla, I could say goodbye to the soot left by my gas-burning cars.

And that’s just one area of my life where I could be more efficient.

I read the science news. I like to learn about new sources of energy, advances in energy production, and lately, energy efficiency.

I was a fan of thorium molten salt reactors. I was a fan of passive safety in nuclear reactors. I was a fan of solar, wind, and even geothermal energy. They’re all nice, but they don’t hold a candle to energy efficiency.

If I had the money, I’d deck my house out with a geothermal energy loop and a heat…

--

--