Photo by alerkiv on Unsplash

On Our Way to Financializing America, We Forgot How to Make Things We Need

We’re on the brink of war with two countries that haven’t forgotten how to make things.

ScottCDunn
5 min readFeb 16, 2023

--

Every day, I see it in the news. Russia is evil. China is evil. They’re a threat to us, our leaders say. China could invade Taiwan. We’ve been told to freak out whenever we find a balloon in the sky that we can’t recognize. “I didn’t make that balloon. Did you?”

We’ve also been told that Russia could finish off Ukraine and go after its customers in other countries like Germany, Italy, or France. And every time I see those stories in the news, I wonder why advertisers pay to put their ads in those stories.

Whatever I see in the news, I remember that we the readers don’t pay for the news in the newshole. Whatever I see advertised in the news is tailored to my demographics. There is an expectation that I will read the story, see the ad, and buy the product in the ad. It doesn’t really matter what the news in the story brings as long as I see the ad. Or does it?

And then I think about Russia. I think about our relationship with Russia. Someone needed Russia to be an adversary or America and Europe would have comported themselves differently. We would have gone out of our way to make Russia a NATO…

--

--