Photo by Dex Ezekiel on Unsplash

It is Incredibly Hard to Understand Why Liberals Want War with Russia

It’s so weird that liberals are the people doing everything they possibly can to prevent de-escalation in Ukraine.

ScottCDunn
5 min readJan 31, 2023

--

I read liberal and conservative opinions. I like to see how the other side thinks. I like to know what they’re planning. This is one reason why I got on Trump’s mailing list after he was banned from Twitter. If I want to know what the other side thinks, I have to listen to them.

I’ve been listening. I’m a liberal who reads the National Review, The America Conservative, and even The Washington Examiner. I might read the New York Post just to see what’s up over there. At the same time, I read the New York Times, the Washington Post, and a fair number of liberal sites about the economy.

But in terms of a true desire for peace, a sheer willingness to look at our own faults and missteps that lead up to the war in Ukraine, conservative journalism and opinion are far more introspective and pacifist than the liberal media. I really hate to say that the liberals are the warmongers and the conservatives are the people who are calling for de-escalation. But I have to say it.

I am bewildered by all the vilification and demonization of Russia. It wasn’t really until Trump…

--

--