In Light Of The Latest Drone Strike: Iraq War vs Infrastructure

What could we have built for ourselves with the money for the Iraq War?

ScottCDunn
5 min readFeb 20, 2020

I’m still thinking of the assassination of Iranian Major General Qassem Soleimani carried out by the US military on Trump’s order. I am concerned that the cumulative actions of the Trump Administration will eventually lead to another war. I am hopeful that war can be avoided, but I’m reminded of what a certain Winston Churchill said about war (from the International Churchill Society):

“Never, never, never believe any war will be smooth and easy, or that any one who embarks on that strange voyage can measure the tides and hurricanes he will encounter. The Statesman who yields to war fever must realise that once the signal is given, he is no longer the master of policy but the slave of unforeseeable and uncontrollable events….” — My Early Life, 1930

We saw that “strange voyage” with the Iraq War and I am hopeful that Trump and his cronies will see that about any war they might contemplate with Iran. I really want to emphasize that point that Churchill made about war, that once the signal is given by a politician, he is no longer the master of policy, but the slave of circumstances far beyond his control. And Iran has declared that the assassination of their beloved military leader was an act of war.

I am thinking now about the cost of war. I found research on the Iraq War that tallies the total cost of that war…

--

--