Goldwater was right about the Christians in the Republican Party

ScottCDunn
4 min readNov 13, 2018

I’m a liberal, but I often find common ground with conservatives. I often find that both sides can make sense on the same topic, with similar solutions. I really don’t believe that politics is binary. I believe that politics is about finding common ground and negotiating from there.

So when I see how Republicans in Congress left so many courts without a judge during Obama’s tenure, how they refused to even hold hearings for federal and Supreme Court judges, I see just how extreme they have become.

It’s also worth noting that for much of American history, Christians have had a supermajority in Congress. Even as recently as a few years ago, Congress was about 92% Christian. And with the confirmation of Brett Kavanaugh, their intentions are clear: to make America a Christian nation. This is extremism on the part of Christians in government, was noticed long ago by Barry Goldwater, in a famous quote by him:

“Mark my word, if and when these preachers get control of the [Republican] party, and they’re sure trying to do so, it’s going to be a terrible damn problem. Frankly, these people frighten me. Politics and governing demand compromise. But these Christians believe they are acting in the name of God, so they can’t and won’t compromise. I know, I’ve tried to deal with them.” — November, 1994, quoted by John Dean in his book, Conservatives Without Conscience.

--

--