Photo by guy stevens on Unsplash

Every Day I Make A Decision To Be Happy About Something — Anything

Each decision I make to be happy is cumulative and progressive.

ScottCDunn
4 min readMar 27, 2022

--

Most of what I write is about politics. It’s not my first choice, but it’s deeply related to happiness. Every decision I make to be happy is a foundation for my politics.

I have a deep and abiding interest in what it takes to live in peace. I derive peace in my life mostly from noticing everything and anything around me that I find is a reason to be happy.

I have also found that every decision I make to be happy about something, even grateful, about an object in my immediate surroundings increases the number of days between episodes of drama.

So I avoid stirring up the pot of drama. I err on the side of peace.

My politics is rooted in my desire for peace and happiness. I recognize that everything is connected. Scientists have learned that it is not possible to observe an experiment without affecting the outcome. I translate that to mean that it’s not possible to hurt someone without hurting myself.

Conversely, it’s not possible to help someone without helping oneself.

There is this myth floating around humanity that we are all free agents in a bag of skin. Every one of us is…

--

--