End The Tyranny Of The Minority

We want a peaceful transition of power. That’s not happening this year due to the Senate rules. We could fix this.

ScottCDunn
7 min readJan 8, 2021

I see a nation divided. The nation is divided by the United States Senate. The reason for this is that the United States Senate has rules that appear to be impossible to change. For decades, we have been living under the assumption that the rules created by a previous senate can encumber a future senate. I am here to tell you that there is nothing further from the truth.

All the vitriol, all the protests, and all of the gridlock in Congress come from the Senate. The Senate, in its present form, cannot adapt to change. And don’t tell me that the Senate is a slow, deliberative body. When they want to move, they will move, but only with the blessing of the minority.

I’m here to imagine America as a country that can adapt to change. I’m here to imagine a country that is not ruled by the minority at the highest levels of power any longer. I’m here to tell you that the Senate has every right to change its rules by a simple majority vote. I offer to you now, a video of Tom Udall, esteemed Senator from New Mexico, to explain the history of the filibuster, the one parliamentary move that has turned the Senate into a graveyard of good ideas:

--

--