Avoiding the sick trap with Vitamin C

ScottCDunn
4 min readJan 8, 2019
These fruits have vitamin C. Oh, that poor, beat up orange…

It seems like every winter, I fall into the same trap. I get sick, but I have to work since I’m the breadwinner of the family. So I go to the doctor. I get antibiotics, I take Nyquil for those tough nights when I need sleep. I wake up in a haze and go to work.

All of that is a hit to my internal organs like my kidneys and liver. All of that imposes stresses on my body that ultimately degrades my performance. And all of that is because there is only so much paid time off that I can work with and then I start to bump into days without pay. I have to check out for when my kids get sick, my wife gets sick, parent teacher conferences, and what’s left over are true sick days. It’s like the system is designed to keep me bouncing back and forth between doctors and over the counter medicine.

The “seasonal” medicine that is advertised on TV is designed to keep me working, even when I’m sick. Think back to the last Nyquil or Alka-Seltzer For Colds commercial you ever saw. The scene is some serf working a delivery job and he’s sneezing and coughing while handling Christmas gifts for delivery. He takes the serum and the symptoms disappear! Hooray! He can work! If he can do it, I can do it!

Most commercials for over the counter medication are about keeping you working while you’re sick. They usually air when October rolls around and they keep…

--

--