A Not So Subtle Comparison Of Donald Trump and Bernie Sanders

Only one of them has been keeping his story straight.

ScottCDunn
4 min readNov 3, 2019

I’ve just had an encounter on Twitter with a few Donald Trump supporters. I can’t help but have the feeling that some of them see Trump as some sort of savior. Indeed, Trump acts like a savior, like someone who wants to make America great again. Yes, I have encountered some people sporting the #maga hashtag on their Twitter profiles.

When I hear Trump say that the stock market will tumble if he is impeached, or removed from office, or if he just loses the next election, I hear, “savior” in my mind. When I see news articles about conservatives expressing the sentiment that there will be a civil war if Trump isn’t allowed to finish his first term, and a second term, I hear, “savior” in my mind. When I see pictures of people sporting “Pray for 45” t-shirts, I hear the word, “savior” in my mind again. Isn’t that called, “idolatry”?

When I see Bernie Sanders on YouTube, or on video anywhere, when I see his fanatical supporters, I am reminded that Sanders told us all long ago…

“No president, not Bernie Sanders or anybody else, can do it alone. We don’t need a savior,” he continued.

“We need a political movement with millions of people.”

“See, there are people voting for Donald Trump, thinking he’s going to do it all,” the Vermont senator said.

“Wrong. The only way that real…

--

--